top of page
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
Search
  • Writer's picturegordondeleeconsult

Donation Letter for Transitions Homeless Center, Columbia, SC

Updated: Jan 9, 2019


By Marjorie A. Gordon-DeLee, MA (January 9, 2019)



Dear Donors,


Currently I am experiencing homelessness which is an area of life that I never thought that I, personally would possibly be exposed to as many other people believe of themselves as well. Why not? I, as well as other people, are not quarantined from ever experiencing homelessness. I have definitely learned that it can happen to anyone at any given time in our lives. Most people live paycheck to paycheck, with that said, most are only a paycheck away from homelessness.


From June of 2010 to June 2018, I have worked closely with providing assistance to the homeless people in the communities of South Carolina, beginning with Walterboro, South Carolina my employment with Palmetto Goodwill and in my employment in Beaufort, South Carolina with Palmetto Goodwill. During my employment I came to realize that there was really an issue with homelessness throughout the entire State of South Carolina. I never could have imagined being from the Lowcountry of South Carolina that there was in fact a problem with so many homeless people in those areas whereas it should not have been at all.


As I interacted with the homeless people during that period of my employment, I gained quite a bet of knowledge into the mindset of the homeless through their discussions with me as we built relationships. I would see many of them on a daily basis. They would come into the Career Opportunity Center where I worked to get off the streets and simply use the computers for hours in doing so.


During those periods, they would tell me that due to problems with family members, they have chosen to remain on the streets and not want family contacted because they did not believe that family even cared. This was communicated by all of the homeless who were extremely easy to talk with but very prideful people and quite intelligent. If they believed that someone really cared they easily accepted the assistance. It was during this period of employment that I realized that helping people when they were in such need of assistance was where my heart was and the job became so gratifying and did not feel like work at all. It was where God wanted me to be and give of myself to others. Because of that time spent at work, it became even more satisfying and fulfilling knowing that I made a difference in someone else life on that day.


In my experience at the Transitions Homeless Center in Columbia, South Carolina for the nine days I lived in the shelter I was able to build relationships with the other residents and also the homeless men and women who remained living on the streets. They were really comfortable talking with me and I appreciate them for allowing me to give them some encouraging words and assistance with some of their needs. Such as with the man who was 63 years old and not applied for his Social Security Benefits because he thought that he did not qualify for any. Because of my small story to the group one morning, this particular individual asked me questions surrounding Social Security Benefits and I then encouraged him to go that morning and apply to get started. He went and that afternoon he was able to look forward to a check in just a few weeks for $500.00, whereas he had no income at all coming in. It was his belief that he had not put enough into Social Security work wise to receive any benefits.


Then there was the elderly lady whom I was with most days and connected her with her family by the use of my mobile phone because she had no phone. The family members were excited to hear from her, as she was excited to hear their voices as well. In addition, I was fortunate enough to assist her in her DMV dilemma in gaining an identification card for free to open a checking account to receive her Social Security Benefits through the bank. She has been unable to receive her benefits for months due to losing her Social Security Card and Driver’s License in moving from place to place on the streets of Columbia.

Last but definitely not least are the people who are in need of treatment for their alcohol and drug addiction as well as moving through the healing from domestic violence. More funding is needed at the Transitions Homeless Center to help those who are residents and all of the homeless people who remain on the streets.


Prayerfully, please consider how you would be willing to support me as we begin to raise more funding for the Transitions Homeless Center in Columbia, South Carolina. The homeless community need our assistance. As a homeless person myself, I must give now even more so because I am living the experience and know that it could have been my mother or father, bother or sister, or even any one of my children at any time. We, as homeless are not outcast, but regular, everyday people who are requiring the care and compassion of this society to help another human being to reestablish themselves in the community and to heal their mind, bodies, and souls of anxieties, pain, and suffering.


All donations are tax-deductible and directions for financial contributions can be found on the “Transitions for Donation” webpage at https://transitionssc.org/donate/. Thank you for partnering with me and supporting the Transitions Homeless Center in helping the homeless and reducing frequently homelessness on the streets to the point of elimination of any human being living on the streets of Columbia, South Carolina.


Respectfully Submitted, I am

Marjorie A. Gordon-DeLee, MA

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page